SOMERTON, AZ (IMCA) – Tanner Black and Kyle Heckman were repeat winners while Brian Osantowski and Matt Olson both made first visits to victory lane Saturday, on night four of the IMCA.TV Winter Nationals at Cocopah Speedway.

Black led every lap of the IMCA Modified feature but had to hold off the hard-charging Ethan Dotson for the $1,000 checkers. Heckman made his way to the front following a lap six restart, then outran Blake Adams and Michael Sheen as the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature stayed green the last 19 circuits. 

Osantowski checked out on the rest of the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod field before encoun­tering lapped traffic and three late cautions, finally running away from Miles Morris and Austen Becerra in a one-lap dash to the finish.

And Olson led all 25 laps of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature before ending Eric Knutson’s streak of three straight Winter Nationals wins by the width of his bumper. Knutson made his charge toward the front from 16th starting.

Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Wednesday winner Black drew the pole and led Casey Skyberg the first 13 times around the track. Dotson had topped the Thursday feature at Somerton from 12th starting and was in third following the last of three lap 11 restarts. 

Dotson used the extreme high line to make it close, coming up just short. Skyberg, Jerry Flippo and Jeff Larson rounded out the top five. 

Sixty-two Modifieds were among the 156 IMCA entries from 18 states on Saturday. 

Heckman motored from third to the front following the only restart early in the Stock Car feature to add a bookend trophy to his hardware from Thursday evening. Friday winner Blake Adams got the best of Michael Sheen in the battle for third. 

The fourth different Northern SportMod winner in as many nights, Osantowski built up a big led before Fred Ryland caught up in traffic. He pulled away again, as Morris, Becerra and Erik Laudenschlager all passed Ryland on the last lap. Hard charger Taylor Kuehl drove from 17th start­ing to sixth. 

Olson made his way to victory lane following the closest finish through the first four nights of Winter Nationals. Knutson came up just inches shy in his bid for a fourth straight win at Cocopah and third went to Steve Bitting Jr.

The IMCA.TV Winter Nationals conclude with Jan. 14, 15 and 16 shows. Click HERE for subscription information to watch the livestreams from

Click HERE for full results from Results with Iowa drivers follow:


A Feature – 22. Tim Ward (Harcourt)

B Feature 2 – 14. Rob Jennings (Slater)

Heat 2 – 2. Ward

Heat 5 – 8. Jennings


A Feature – 7. Logan Anderson (Eddyville); 17. Cam Reimers (Ogden); 20. Shane Paris (Muscatine); 23. Josh Most (Red Oak)

B Feature 1 – 2. Most; 6. Reimers

Heat 2 – 2. Anderson; 4. Reimers

Heat 4 – 2. Paris

Heat 5 – 3. Most


A Feature – 2. Blake Adams (McIntire); 5. Brock Badger (Bagley) 9. Andrew Burg (formerly Grimes)

Heat 1 – 2. Badger

Heat 3 – 2. Adams; 5. Burg


A Feature – 2. Eric Knutson (Slater); 5. Brett Vanous (Quasqueton); 9. David Crimmins (Dubuque)

Heat 1 – 6. Knutson

Heat 2 – 1. Crimmins

Heat 3 – 2. Vanous

Photos by Bobby McMorris (click HERE for more)

For more news and information that “covers the Iowa dirt track scene,” visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here