ALGONA – Minnesota racer Brandon Beckendorf has had a lot of success at “The Thunderdome” – also known as Kossuth County Speedway – in recent years.

With that and his 2020 IMCA Super Nationals Fast Shafts All-Star Race firesuit on for a little extra good luck, he took his car to Victory Lane on opening night in the $1,000-to-win modified season opener. Nick Meyer of Whittemore and Jeremy Mills of Clear Lake rounded out the top three. Heat winners were Humboldt’s Rob Hughes and Sioux City’s Cody Thompson.

The night got started with some fireworks – and mangled-up racecars – in the cruiser division heat race. As a result, only four cars made the start for the evening’s feature, and only three finished the race. The team of Peg Lewis and Heather Pesicka of Cylinder won the main event, while Makenna Pesicka and Makley Pesicka of Burt won the heat.

In the sport compact feature, Spencer’s Kaytee Devries picked up where she left off in 2020, grabbing the win. She held off Jaedon Erickson and Brandon Hartmann, both of Minnesota, for the win. Heat winners were Humboldt’s Jade Lange and Devries.

Rockwell’s Carter Koop won the hobby stock feature over Emmetsburg’s Chris Krug and Spencer’s Brandon Nielsen. The heat winners were Algona’s Doug Wickman and Nielsen.

Kelly Shryock of Joice was the stock car feature winner. He easily handled the rest of the field with Renwick’s Chad Palmer playing the role of distant second. Minnesota’s Derek Green finished third. Heat winners were Algona’s McCain Jennings and Shryock.

Swea City’s Matt Looft won the penultimate feature of the night, the northern sportmods, over Gerald Curry of Lu Verne. Third place went to Jared Boumeester of Minnesota. Heat winners were Alec Fett of Burt and Curry.

Click HERE for full results from

(Photos by Buck Monson [Click HERE for more])

For more news and information that “covers the Iowa dirt track scene,” visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here