DAVENPORT (K PROMOTIONS) – The Spring Challenge was held Saturday at Davenport Speedway. The event jointly promoted by K Promotions and Darkside Promotions.

In the Modified feature, Timmy Current held the early lead, despite four cautions in the first ten laps. Spencer Diercks, who started along side Current in the front row, was one of the few drivers dedicated to the high side. During the second half of the twenty-lap main, the high line became the fast way around the track.

Diercks took the lead on lap fifteen and pulled away in the final laps for the win. Matt Werner moved up late to finish second with Current holding on for third. Chris Zogg and Bryce Garnhart had a tense battle for fourth, with Zogg getting the position at the checkers.

Modified heat winners were Zogg, Werner, and Diercks.

Austen Becerra drove to victory in the SportMod main. Austen started in the fourth, and would lead all fifteen laps en route to the win. Ryan Walker came from sixth starting spot to finish second. Shane Paris finished third, ahead of Tony Olson and Jayden Schmidt.

Logan Anderson, Schmidt, Paris, and Walker won the SportMod heats.

Jeff Struck won both the Street Stock heat and feature. Struck took the lead on lap seven, passing both Brandon Setser and Jesse Owen on the same lap. Once in front, Struck pulled away for an easy win. Owen finished second with Brandon Setser third.

The Sport Compact feature was the only one to go green, white, checkered. Josh Riley led every lap on his way to victory lane. Nick Proehl ran a close second. Josh Starr was credited with third, followed by Brandon Schnieder and Jimmy Dutlinger.

Click HERE for full results from MyRacePass.com.

Late Models were not racing, but were given test & tune sessions on the racetrack.

K Promotions and Davenport Speedway will begin weekly stock car racing action on Friday, April 23.

(Photos provided by K Promotions; photographer Simply Modified [Click HERE for more]).

For more news and information that “covers the Iowa dirt track scene,” visit www.iowaracingnews.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here