Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame former sprint car owner and Marion County Fair Board member Dwayne Robuck has passed away.

The track announced the passing on its Facebook page on Friday afternoon with the following statement:

“We are saddened to hear that Knoxville Raceway Hall of Famer, Dwayne Robuck passed away today. Our condolences to Mike Robuck and their entire family. He will be missed.”

Robuck was inducted into the Sprint Car Capital of the World’s Hall of Fame in 2012 alongside Mike VanderEcken, Skip Jackson, and Ken Hesmer. The following was written about him at the time:

“Dwayne has been around Knoxville Raceway since 1959 but has witnessed racing here prior to that in the ‘50s. Early on he helped Ralph Grabow with track prep as well as manning the Shell wrecker and a push truck. In the 1960s he became involved with the car of Adrian Zoutte but it was the early ‘70s that he became more involved with Mike Brooks at this track with several other men. By the mid-70s he and son Mike bought their own sprinter and fielded a car here for nearly thirty years. Their hard work produced a highlight moment when they won the 2002 Friday night Nationals A Main with Don Droud Jr. as their driver. A second highlight saw Danny Lasoski pilot their car to a third place finish at the Perth, Australia World Cup Race in the late 1980s. Dwayne was honored by the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame with the Heritage Award in 2002. He has been a Knoxville track official in turn 3 for many years and was a Marion County Fair Board member for 37 years.”

Obituary and funeral arrangements have not been announced as of this writing.

Photo by Knoxville Raceway

For more news and information that “covers the Iowa dirt track scene,” visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here