DAVENPORT (K PROMOTIONS) – One hundred and seven cars were on hand Friday at the Davenport Speedway. The weekly racing program was highlighted by a $1,000-to-win late model program.

Fresh off his win Thursday at Marshalltown, Justin Kay took the checkers in the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature. The victory was Justin’s first points win of the year at Davenport.

Brian Harris jumped out to the early race lead from the pole position and held the top spot until lap twelve. Once in the lead, Kay quickly pulled away from the field in heavy lapped traffic. Matt Ryan gave chase to the leader, but finished a distant second. Andy Nezworski came from ninth starting position to finish third. Chuck Hanna started fifteenth and finished fourth, followed by Joe Zrostlik. Joel Callahan, Nezworski, and Ryan won the late model heats.

Terry Rentfro earned a long overdue victory in the Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified class. Rentfro inherited the lead from Jason Pershy on lap fourteen and fended off Chris Zogg and Matt Werner to take the win. Zogg and Werner would finish second and third respectively. Arizona racer Tim Ward was involved in an early race caution but battled back to take fourth. Eric Barnes rounded out the top five.

Thirty-one IMCA SportMods were in the pit area Friday night, but only one could win. And that one was Jarrett Franzen. Doug Burkhead led the feature for the first six laps, but his race would end early. Ryan Walker held the lead briefly before Franzen made his way to the front. Jarrett led the remaining laps for the win. Tyler Soppe and Ben Chapman made it interesting down the stretch, but had to settle for second and third. Jeremy Gustaf finished fourth despite damage to the front end of his racecar. Walker held on for a fifth place finish.

Koehler Electric Street Stock action saw Jeff Struck Jr. capture his first points win of the season at Davenport. Nick Hixson led six laps but would take second. Third went to early race leader Donnie Louck, followed by Cary Brown and Tony VonDresky, in that order.

Dustin Forbes took the win in the QCjeeps.com Sport Compact main. Cyle Hawkins grabbed the early race lead, but bobbled on lap six and allowed Forbes to get the point. Forbes had to hold off Josh Starr to collect the win. Hawkins came back to finish third, followed by Jimmy Dutlinger and Todd Sibley.

Click HERE for full results from MyRacePass.com.

The next event for K Promotions at Davenport Speedway will be Friday, May 21. The program is highlighted by an appearance by the Badger Midget Racing Association. Weekly classes in action will be Modifieds, SportMods, Street Stocks, and Sport Compacts.

For more news and information that “covers the Iowa dirt track scene,” visit IowaRacingNews.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here