SOMERTON, AZ (IMCA) – Patience put $1,000 in Tanner Black’s pocket.

With a record 161 entries in the pits for opening night of the IMCA.TV Winter Nationals, Black returned to his home state to win Wednesday’s feature for IMCA Modifieds at Cocopah Speedway. He reeled in Russell Allen on the 16th circuit in a fast-paced main event that ran 25 caution-free laps.

“I decided I needed to roll around the bottom and be patient,” said Black, who’d run second the first 15 times around the track. “Maybe he’d make a mistake and I could get around him.”

Allen ended in second while defending track and Shaw Race Cars Western Region champion Chaz Baca was third. 

Zane DeVilbiss and Ethan Dotson completed the top five. Sixty-two Modifieds saw action at Cocopah. 

Black, now from Kansas, had put his name on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot by winning night two of the Turkey Classic at Cocopah last November.

Other Wednesday night winners were Andrew Altenburg in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Chris Toth in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods and Eric Knutson in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.

Altenburg caught Blake Adams with two laps to go in the Stock Car headliner. He’d started second and swapped the runner-up position with Michael Sheen before those late heroics.

Sheen chased Altenburg across the stripe after passing Adams on the final circuit. Aaron Spangler started 13th and finished fourth. 

Toth and Fred Ryland ran 1-2 all 20 laps of the Northern SportMod feature. The front pair were catching the back of the field before back-to-back yellows at midway. Brian Osantowski worked his way from 13th starting to third with six to go. Forty-eight Northern SportMods vied Wednesday night.

And Knutson led all but the first three laps in topping the Hobby Stock feature. Brandon Bombardo made a late charge to second and Steve Bitting Jr. was third. 

Click HERE for full results from Results with Iowa drivers follow:


A Feature – 10. Tim Ward (Harcourt); 22. Bob Moore (Sioux City)

B Feature 2 – 13. Rob Jennings (Slater)

B Feature 3 – 4. Moore

Heat 2 – 8. Jennings

Heat 3 – 1. Ward; 3. Moore


A Feature – 17. Josh Most (Red Oak, DNF); 18. Shane Paris (Muscatine, DNF); 23. Cam Reimers (Ogden, DNF)

B Feature 1 – 2. Most

B Feature 2 – 6. Logan Anderson (Eddyville)

Heat 2 – 1. Reimers

Heat 3 – 2. Paris

Heat 4 – 6. Most

Heat 6 – 7. Anderson (DNF)


A Feature – 3. Blake Adams (McIntire); 14. Brock Badger (Bagley); 23. Andrew Burg (formerly Grimes)

Heat 1. – 2. Adams

Heat 2 – 1. Badger; 8. Burg


A Feature – 1. Eric Knutson (Slater); 6. David Crimmins (Dubuque); 7. Brett Vanous (Quasqueton)

Heat 1 – 3. Knutson; 4. Vanous

Heat 2 – 2. Crimmins

Photos by Bobby McMorris (click HERE for more)

For more news and information that “covers the Iowa dirt track scene,” visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here