ALTA – A total of 78 cars made the call for opening night at Buena Vista Raceway and the racing in all five divisions did not disappoint.

In the sport compacts, Denison’s Cane Mahlberg took the checkers ahead of Spencer’s Kaytee Devries. Colton Ransom of Odebolt, Cody Gorden of Ida Grove, and hometown racer Corey Namanny rounded out the top five. Heat winners were Devries and Mahlberg.

The Lake City Smith clan made the trek to “The Beaver” for some mid-week racing and made some noise across all of the remaining four divisions. Mike Smith won the hobby stock feature, collecting his third win and seventh top five of the season. Justin Frederick of Cleghorn, Brandon Nielsen of Spencer, James Johnson of Cherokee, and Drew Barglof of Sioux Rapids completed the top five. Heat winners were Frederick, Barglof, and Smith.

In the northern sportmod division, Cherokee’s Tim Rupp took the checkers, but Dustin Smith was right behind. Kelley’s Cam Reimers came in third, while South Dakota racer Rusty Montagne and Spencer’s Zech Norgaard rounded out the top five. Heat winners were Reimers, Matt Grall of Fort Dodge, and Conner Vande Weerd of Alton.

It should come as no surprise that the stock car division was dominated by the Smiths. Devin won the feature, followed by two-time IMCA Super Nationals champion Randy Brands. Donavon and David took third and fourth, respectively, while another past Super Nationals champion, Brian Blessington of Breda, rounded out the top five. Heat winners were David Smith and Bruce Bonnesen of Aurelia.

In the headlining feature of the night, Minnesota racer Jesse Rogotzke piloted his XXX car to Victory Lane just ahead of Doug Smith. Justin Sackett of Pierson, Zach Dockter of North Dakota, and “Racer Ricky” Stephan of Nebraska rounded out the top five. Heat winners were Nathan Hughes of Webster City and Chris Abelson of Sioux City.

Click HERE for full results from

For more news and information that “covers the Iowa dirt track scene,” visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here