INDEPENDENCE (IMS) – One Hundred and Eight cars signed in to tame the 3/8 mile race track. Finally checkered flag waived at 10:17pm with Brandon Tharp, Brett Vanous, Travis Smock, Chase Brunscheen, Adam Gates, Jarod Weepie and Jerry Dedrick took feature wins. Tharp’s win was his first in his career, Brunscheen was his first in Indee, Weepie’s win was in the 400th IMCA Stock Car Feature win. 

First feature of the night was the  Burco Sales IMCA Sport Mods 16 lap feature event and they would got three wide on the opening lap exiting turn two. Brandon Tharp took the top spot early fending off Brady Hilmer and Tony Olson. Tharp hits his marks until a caution came out on lap seven for Carl Reninger in turn four. Tharp got a great restart and fend of challenges again from Hilmer and Tony Olson but the caution came out again on lap 11. Tharp hung on to take his first career win, a win he said was that was five years in the making. Hilmer finished second ahead of Kenny Wyman, Kyle Olson and Tony Olson.

Brett Vanous jumped out the early lead in the Albert Auto IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature after getting by front row starters Austin Mehmen and Chris Pittman on the start. Vanous never looked back and hit his marks to go on take the feature win. In victory lane, he said he was not going to put a wrap on in until he parked in victory lane and continued by saying I guess next week it is getting wrapped. Justin Hanson finished second. Gary Ollendieck moved up eight spots to finish third. Luke Schluetter and Tyler Ollendieck was fourth and fifth.

In the Dunlap Motors IMCA Late Models 25 lap feature, Ben Seemann took the early race lead but Scott Welsh and Darren Ackerman was all over the back bumper. Ackerman finally got by Welsh and then set his sights getting by Seemann, which he did on lap six. Ackerman began to pull away and was heading on to the win as he had a full straight away lead as he started lapping cars. On lap 18, Ackerman spun on the front stretch trying to put Don Pataska down a lap bring out the caution flag. Ackerman exited pit side meaning the restart would see no leader per track rules, the caution came out on the restart when four cars spun on the front stretch coming back to the green. Travis Smock grabbed the lead on the restart and hit his marks until the caution came out on lap 23 when Leah Wroten spun in turn two. On the restart, Seemann and Curt Martin got together going into turn one. Smock held on to take the feature win ahead of Logan Duffy, Sean Johnson, Seemann and Welsh.

Before a single lap scored in the books for the Waterloo Auto Parts Indee Cars 12 lap feature event, the caution came out when Don Erger spun in turn one. Logan Takes took the top spot on lap one but had “Wildman” Chase Brunscheen on his back bumper. Takes lost his left front tire going into turn one just after being scored the leader on lap three, ending his night. Brunscheen took over the race lead but saw the caution come out one more time on lap five when Matt Dales spun in turn four. Brunscheen held off Bryce Carey to take his first win in Independence. Carey finished second, Reggie Rema moved up ten spots to finish third, Dave Rosburg was fourth and Dale Schwamman was fifth.

Up next was the Waterloo Auto Parts Sport Compacts 12 lap feature event. Colton Stewart and Jay Crabill led the field to the green flag. Crabill grabbed the race lead but just after one lap, the caution came out when Thomas Werning lost a tire in turn two. Crabill held off Stewart and Adam Gates on the restart hoever the caution came out on lap four when David Balik lost a left rear tire in turn four. Crabill held on the race lead until Gates finally made the move and took over the race lead on lap 11. Gates went on to take the feature win ahead of Cristian Grady, who also got by Crabill. Crabill slipped back to third, Justin Hempstead driving his Joseph Hempstead car finished fourth and Andrew Bieber was fifth.

Dominator Chassis IMCA Stock Cars was running their 400th IMCA Stock Car Feature event in Independence on Saturday Night. The first feature event was held on April 24th, 1993 and Lon Gadow was the feature winner. 

Kevin Rose led the first four laps of 20 lap feature event. Just after lap four completed the caution came out for three cars spun in turn three. The caution came out again on the restart when an infield tire got clipped exiting turn four g forcing several cars to spin on the front stretch. Jarod Weepie grabbed the race lead on the restart and continued to hold of several shots to the back side until the caution came out on lap 12 for Wroten in turn four. Weepie held on to take the 400th IMCA Stock Car Feature event ran in Independence, his 30th win in Independence, Weepie also won the 200th feature event held in Indee. Philip Holtz, Jay Schmidt, Tom Schmitt and Scooter Dulin rounded out the top five.

Final feature of the night was the Performance Bodies IMCA Modifieds feature event. The Modified feature paid $1,000 to win after last week’s originally scheduled fast shaft all-star qualifier got rained out. Jerry Dedrick started on the pole but fend off several challenges from Jarrett Brown the entire distance. The race had a total of six caution flags but none of them fazed Dedrick as held off Brown, Mike Burbridge and Ryan Maitland to take the feature win. Brown was second, Burbridge was third, Maitland was fourth and Ryan Morehouse was fifth.

Click HERE for full results from

Next week June 12th is Burco Farms Night at the Races. Dunlap Motors IMCA Late Models, Performance Bodies IMCA Modifieds, Dominator Chassis IMCA Stock Cars, Burco Sales IMCA Sport Mods, Albert Auto IMCA Hobby Stocks, Waterloo Auto Parts Indee Cars (Micro Mods) and Waterloo Auto Parts Sport Compacts are racing. Pits Open at 4p, Grandstands at 4:30p, Racing at 6p.

Following week June 19th is Crawford Farms Hall of Fame Night, where the 2021 class will be inducted. This year’s class includes Paul Fitzpatrick, Bob Hilmer, Karl Sanger, Bill Barthelmes, Don Bedard, Tiny Russell and Gordon Bentley.

Then on Saturday June 26th the Haulin with Hoker Trucking Malvern Bank SLMR Late Models make appearance. 

For more information about Independence Motor Speedway check out or or like the Facebook page Independence Motor Speedway or contact promoter Mick Trier at (515) 201-5526 or Track manager Justin Temeyer at (563) 920-2867.

For more news and information that “covers the Iowa dirt track scene,” visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here