OSKALOOSA – The Middlekoop Seeds/Dickey Transport Season Championships were held on Wednesday night at the Southern Iowa Speedway as the drivers, crews and our loyal fans braved the sweltering heat.

The final race of the night was the Midstate Machine Stock Car Season Championship race. The Stock Car Drivers have provided great racing all year and the final night was certainly no exception as the race came right down to the last lap with lead changes occurring on the last two laps. Dustin Griffiths led as the front runners crossed under the flag stand taking the white flap. Season points leader Derrick Agee raced to the inside of Griffiths down the back chute and took the fast line away from Griffiths entering turn three. Agee scored the win by less than car length and was crowned back to back track champion in the very tough Midstate Machine Stock Car division.

The Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods saw High School Junior to be, Maguire DeJong put an exclamation point on a great season by winning the Season Championship race and the 2021 Points Track Championship. DeJong raced into the lead early from a third row start taking the lead away from Logan Anderson. Once out front DeJong raced to a comfortable win ahead of Anderson and Dakota Girard.

Aaron Martin won the Season Championship main event in the Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks and Dustin Griffiths was crowned the 2021 Track Champion. Martin took the lead from his front row start and led the feature flag to flag. Griffiths settled for second but his point lead was plenty enough to score the track championship.

Billy Cain put an exclamation point on a great season by winning the Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compact Season Championship race and the track title for the second consecutive year. Cain took the main event win over James Haring and Tyler Haring.

The Non-Wing Sprint cars came into the night with Doug Sylvester and Kelly Graham tied for the season long point title. When the feature event went checkered it was Doug Sylvester pulling his #12 Sprinter into victory lane. Sylvester held off Graham in the feature and the win earned him the track title.

Next up at the Southern Iowa Speedway will be Terry McCarl’s Front Row Challenge featuring 410 open Sprint Cars. The race will be contested on Monday, Aug. 9. It was announced on Wednesday that NASCAR Star Kyle Larson is planning on racing in Oskaloosa.

The Stock Cars will return to action for the annual Musco Lighting Fall Challenge, Friday and Saturday, October 15 & 16, both days will feature a full program of racing and details will be released as the race dates approach.

For more news and information that “covers the Iowa dirt track scene,” visit IowaRacingNews.com.


Midstate Machine Stock Cars

  1. 14 Derrick Agee-Moberly, MO
  2. 10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick
  3. 85 Jason McDaniel-Eldon
  4. 52 Nathan Wood-Sigourney
  5. 19 Donnie Pearson-Oskaloosa

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

  1. 30M Maguire DeJong-Montezuma
  2. 53 Logan Anderson-Eddyville
  3. 0 Dakota Girard-Moberly, MO
  4. 15K Kyle Harwood-New Sharon
  5. 04 Trent Orwig-Ottumwa

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

  1. 73 Aaron Martin-Delta
  2. 10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick
  3. 67J Jadyn Stevens-Hedrick
  4. 01F Trevor Tanner-Knoxville
  5. 55X Rick Goldsberry-Runnels

Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts

  1. 52 Billy Cain-Bloomfield
  2. 2H James Haring Oskaloosa
  3. 5H Tyler Haring-Oskaloosa
  4. 29 Kevin Garrett-Bloomfield
  5. 41 Nathan Moody-Oskaloosa

Non-WIng Sprints

  1. 12 Doug Sylvester-Ottumwa
  2. 25 Kelly Graham-Hedrick
  3. 9W Ryan Mills-Pleasant Hill
  4. 7X Lance Silvers-Ottumwa
  5. 12X Tim Graham-Memphis, MO 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here